Halloween Ghost Cookies with Buttercream Fondant

As I stated in a previous post, I saw these cute ghosts on Pinterest and I decided to give them my own twist and make them this year instead of my usual bats. It’s always fun to shake thing up a bit.

I’m taking them to my son this weekend at college. I think he’ll get a kick out of them since he’s used to getting the bat cookies.

Here’s how they turned out.

Halloween Ghost Cookies with Buttercream Fondant

First thing I did was ask my husband to make me a cookie cutter from a pattern I had made on the computer. He did a perfect job, so now we just needed to get baking. (I used to do 3-4 different cookie designs, but now I just do one to make it easier.)

Here are my baked cookies with rolled fondant for the base. My favorite purchased fondant is Fondarific Buttercream Wedding White. It’s very easy to work with, colors very easily and is the best tasting fondant I’ve ever had.

Halloween Ghost Cookies with Buttercream Fondant

I used the pasta roller attachment for the Kitchen Aid to roll out the fondant. I sprinkle a little confectioner’s sugar on the attachment to keep the fondant from sticking, then I use one of those flexible cutting boards, spray it with Pam and sprinkle it with a little confectioner’s sugar as well. This is so the fondant won’t stick

Once fed through the pasta attachment, I catch it with the prepared flexible cutting board. I cut out shapes using the same cookie cutter I used when making the cookies.

To apply, simply brush the top of the cookie with water and place the cut fondant on top. Smooth with hands to make sure all fondant is secured and is without bubbles…that’s it. Just keep repeating till all of the cookies are covered.

I wait until the next day to decorate. It gives the fondant a little time to set up, plus it’s a lot of work to do in one day1

Here’s the step-by-step process in photos…

Halloween Ghost Cookies with Buttercream Fondant

I like to put a background color behind the eyes just to make it a little more creepier.

Halloween Ghost Cookies with Buttercream Fondant

Halloween Ghost Cookies with Buttercream Fondant

Tap a round brush with some orange petal dust on for the cheeks. Cute!

Halloween Ghost Cookies with Buttercream Fondant

Add a smile and you’re done!

Leave a Reply

