Grandma Y’s Banana Nut Bread Recipe

Grandma Y's Banana Nut Bread Recipe

My son called me the other day from college, asking for Grandma Y’s Banana Nut Bread recipe. He said his roommate was ready to throw out some rotten bananas, which he grabbed announcing he was going to make banana nut bread. His roommates responded with “ewws” and “I’m not eating that!” Undaunted, my son mixed up a batch. As the smell wafted through the dorm, his roommates seemed a little more interested.

An hour later, as the freshly baked bread rested on the cooling rack, his roomies decided they would try just a bite…and that was the end of that loaf!

I’ve made, and tasted, many banana nut bread recipes. And I have to say this is the BEST. I remember when I was a little girl, my brother and I would beg for the first slice…yes, the heel. The edges had an almost caramelized, slightly crispy texture…good and yummy memories.

I have a little secret of my own. It’s not always easy to have perfectly ripened bananas when you’re in the mood to make this bread. My trick is to keep ripened bananas in my freezer. I don’t even put them in a bag. I just throw them in, unpeeled. When I’m ready to make this recipe, I pop them in the microwave and thaw them out. Even though the bananas have more liquid from freezing, my bread turns out perfect every time!

Let me know what you think!

GRANDMA Y’S BANANA NUT BREAD RECIPE
1/2 cup butter
1-1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 cup ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup nuts, chopped

In medium bowl, cream together shortening and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating well. Add dry ingredients alternately with buttermilk and banana. Stir in nuts. Bake in greased and floured loaf pan at 350° for 65 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

(20-30 minutes for muffins)

TIP…Always, after creaming shortening, sugar, eggs, etc., when there is a liquid and a powder to add alternatively…start with powder and end with powder.

Leave a Reply

